Charley Pride performs on a TV show, London, February 1975. (Photo by Michael Putland/Getty Images)

Recordings by The Doobie BrothersGuns N’ RosesDonna SummerCharley PrideLauryn Hill and five others were inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame today (Wednesday).

These mark the first recordings recognized following a two-year period in which the Hall was put on hiatus for a reevaluation.

One of the biggest changes is in the number of inducted works — down from 25 to 30 selections. Also, this year’s artists are all first-time inductees, and instead of their being recognized with just a press release, they will be honored at the Grammy Museum’s inaugural Grammy Hall of Fame Gala and concert on May 21st at the NOVO Theater in Los Angeles.

This year’s inductees are, in alphabetical order:

  1. William Bell – “You Don’t Miss Your Water” (1961)
  2. Buena Vista Social Club – Buena Vista Social Club (1997)
  3. De La Soul – 3 Feet High and Rising (1989)
  4. The Doobie Brothers – “What a Fool Believes” (1979)
  5. Guns N’ Roses – Appetite for Destruction (1987)
  6. Lauryn Hill – The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill (1998)
  7. Wanda Jackson – “Let’s Have a Party” (1960)
  8. Kid Ory’s Creole Orchestra – “Ory’s Creole Trombone” (1922)
  9. Charley Pride – “Kiss an Angel Good Mornin’” (1971)
  10. Donna Summer – “I Feel Love” (1977)

The Grammy Hall of Fame was created in 1973 to honor recordings that were released prior to the inception of the Grammy Awards in 1958. Eligibility was soon changed to allow any recording released at least 25 years ago. Counting this year’s 10 inductees, it includes 1152 recordings.