HAMILTON — Country crooner Josh Ross leads the pack with six nominations at the Canadian Country Music Association Awards.

The CCMA announced the nominations Thursday, saying Ross is in contention for fans’ choice award, male artist of the year, breakthrough artist, single of the year and video of the year.

Brother-sister duo The Reklaws, who are hosting the show in Hamilton, nabbed five nominations, including for musical collaboration of the year and group or duo of the year.

Also with five nods is Dallas Smith, who’s up for entertainer of the year and video of the year, and Tenille Townes, who’s in the running for female artist of the year and songwriter of the year.

Ross, The Reklaws, Smith and Townes will also all be performing at the televised ceremony, along with Sam Hunt and the American rock band Train.

Other notable nominees include Shania Twain, who’s up for entertainer of the year and female artist of the year, and Orville Peck, who is vying for breakthrough artist of the year.

The show will air live on CTV at 8 p.m. on Sept. 16.

This report by The Canadian Press was first published July 13, 2023.

The Canadian Press