Congratulations to all the winners from this weekend’s Alberta Country Music Awards! Aaron Goodvin, the show’s host, was named Entertainer of the Year, an award which was only first presented last year. The Prairie States earned two trophies: Fans’ Choice and Rising Star, the first time a Rising Star winner also won Fans’ Choice the same year! Dan Davidson’s second consecutive win for Male Artist ties a feat (and record) set by Bobby Wills. Dan was also a two-time winner with his “Songs For Georgia” named Album of the Year, his first win in that category. Lauren Mayell now joins the amazing list of Female Artist winners. Also among the double winners were Nice Horse, accepting their first provincial awards for Group or Duo of the Year and Video of the Year for “Mansplainin’.” BTW, the Video category has never had a repeat winner. Krissy Feniak was named the Horizon Youth Award winner. Although it’s early in that category’s history – it was first presented last year – only women have won it. Renegade Station won their first-ever Single of the Year trophy, for “Who’s Gonna Love Me Tonight,” becoming the first group to win that award. Song of the Year went to writers James Murdoch and Darren Gusnowsky for The Dungarees’ “Don’t Hold Back.” James learned of the win flying over the Pacific Ocean as The Dungarees wrapped up an Australian tour! Mitch Jay, only the second person to be named Musician of the Year became the first to repeat in that category.

Other industry awards, presented earlier during the weekend included: 95.5 Real Country in Red Deer winning their second consecutive Radio Station of the Year award; Calgary Stampede winning their fifth consecutive Talent Buyer trophy (a record, BTW, in that category); Ranchman’s Cookhouse & Dancehall picked up their second consecutive win for Country Venue; and Carly Klassen, of Alberta Music, for Industry Person of the Year (making her only the second person to repeat in that category and the only person to do it consecutively).

Hall of Fame inductees included Larry Donahue, the longtime 840 CFCW broadcaster who retired last month, and the late singer and broadcaster Bev Munro, who passed away last April.

Congratulations to all the winners and to the Association of Country Music in Alberta!